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Providing that certification issued by one cert ify i ng agency is to be accepted as valid by other
cert ifying agencies .

7. Certification Exemption

Exempting specified child care arrangements from certification because those arrangements are
short-term .

ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES

REPEALING AND REPEALING AND RECREATING RULES

To repeal HSS 55.63 and to repeal and recreate HSS 55.55 to 55 . 62, relating to child care certification . .

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Family Services

The Departments current rules for certification of family day care providers , in-home day care
providers and school-age day care programs are amended by this order to bring the rules into compliance
with recent statute changes , in particular the changes made by 1995 Wisconsin Act 289 in establishing
Wisconsin Works (W-2), a new system of assistance for families with dependent children which will
replace Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) , and to add needed protections for children ,
reduce or eliminate unnecessary requirements and clarify the authority of certifying agencies ..

Key changes include :

1 .. Level 11 (provisional) Certification

Modifying standards for provisional certification in compliance with Act 289 changes in the
statutes,,

2 . Limited Certification

Deleting the category of limited certification , in compliance with Act 289 changes in the statutes .

3 . Training for Level I (regular) Certification

Deleting the optional requirement to add 5 hours of initial training for Level I (regular) certification ,
in order to standardize regulation statewide ..

4. Criminal Records Check

Adding requirements for state criminal records checks and FBI criminal record checks under
certain circumstances, as required by Act 289 changes in the statutes .

5 . Certification Fee

Perm itting counties and tribal agencies to charge certification fees, as allowed under Act 289 , not
to exceed 150 percent of licensing fees for fam ily day care centers p l us the cost of criminal record checks .

6 .. Acceptance of Certification
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12 . Health, Safety and Conduct Standards

Creating the following new health , safety and conduct requirements :

a. Clarifying what is acceptable supervision and limiting the number of hours a provider can
provide child care per day .

b. Requiring TB tests for all certified providers ..

c. Requiring proper hand washing for child care providers and children ,.

d. Changing the water testing requirement when a public water supply is not available to
include nitrate and lead level testing prior to or within 3 months of initial certification and at
least every 2 years .

e. Requiring certified providers to report relevant information to the certifying agency .

f.. Prohibiting consumption of alcoholic beverages or controlled substances on the
premises during hours of operation .

8. Sanction Authority

Giving sanction authority to certifying agencies when there is danger to the hea lth , safety or
welfare of children in care .

9 . School-Age Programs

Adding requirements relating to swimming pools and water safety .

Adding requirements for the safety of vehicles transporting children .

Deleting requirements for :

a. Physical exams for children and staff (replaced by a health history requirement) . .

b .. 75 square feet of outdoor space per child.

c.. Daily outdoor activities .

d. A place for rest or relaxation,.

e. Ongoing communication with the child's parent .

Making copies of the certification standards available to all parents .

10. Parochial and Private Schools

Deleting rules related to certification of parochial and private schools s ince those programs can
become licensed in order to receive public child care fund ing .

11 . Parent Checklist

Deleting the rules requirement that parents in certified family day care and in-home day care
complete and return a checklist of basic certification standards but permitting counties and tribes to
continue to require it .
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(6) "Family day care center" means a day care center licensed under s .. 48 ..65 , Stats., and ch.
HSS 45 ..

(7) "Family day care prov ider" means a person provid i ng care for preschool or school -age
children , or both, outs ide their homes for less than 24 hours a day and who i s not required to be l icensed
under s.. 48 .65 , Stats., because the provider is caring for fewer than 4 ch ildren under 7 years old who are
not related to the prov ider.

(8) "Group day care center" means a day care center li censed under s . 48..65 , Stats ., and
ch. HSS 55 .

(9) "Health check prov ider" means a provider of hea lth assessment and evaluat ion services
eligible to be certified under s . HFS 105 . . 37(1 )(a) , including an outpat i ent hospital facil ity, health

g .. Prohibiting discrimination . .

The Department's authority to repeal and to repeal and recreate these rules is found in
s . 46 . . 03(21) , Stats ,. , and s.. 48 .. 651(1) , Stats ,,, as created by 1995 Wisconsin Act 289 . . The rules interpret
s . . 48.651, Stats , ., as affected by 1995 Wisconsin Act 289 .

SECTION 1 .. HSS 55,55 to 55.62 are repealed and recreated to read :

Subchapter VI - Day Care Certification

HSS 55 .55 AUTHORITY PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY . . ( 1) AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE .
This chapter is promulgated pursuant to s . 46 .03 (21) , Stats ., and implements s . 48.651, Stats . This
chapter establishes standards for the certification of persons who prov i de child care for 1 to 3 children or
who are not otherwise required to be licensed as a day care center under s . 48 ,.65 , Stats ., and whose
serv ices are purchased with state or federal child care funds . The standards are intended to protect and
promote the health , safety and we l fare of children in the care of these providers .

(2) APPLICABILITY . . This chapter applies to county and tribal agencies and to all providers of day
care who receive reimbursement with state or federal child care funds and who are not required to be
licensed under s . 48 .65 , Stats., i ncluding providers of child care for 1 to 3 children , providers of child care
for a child in the child's home and providers of child care for school-age children .

HSS 55 .56 DEFINITIONS . In this chapter

(1) "AFDC recipient" means a recipient of aid to fam ili es w ith dependent ch ildren , a publ i c
assistance program under ti tle IV-A of the Soc ial Security Act of 1935 as amended ss . 49 . 19 to 49 .41 ,
Stats., and ch . HSS 201 .

(2) "Certified day care" means day care not required to be licensed under
s. 48 .65 , Stats.., as a day care center and which meets the standards under s .. HSS 55.61
or s . HSS 55 .62 for purchase of care by county or tribal agencies .

( 3) "Certified day care operato r" means an ind ividua l, corporation , partnership or
non-incorporated association or cooperative which has lega l and financ ial responsibility for the operat ion
of a day care program and for meeting the cert ification requirements under th is chapter . .

(4) "County agency" means a county department of soc ial services established under s . 46 .215 or
46.22 , Stats., or a county department of human services established under s .. 46 .23 , Stats.

(5) "Department' means the Wisconsin department of workforce deve lopment.



(22) "Wisconsin works participant" means an individual participating in the Wisconsin works
program for families with dependent children administered under ss . 49.141 to 49 . . 161 , Stats .

HSS 55 .57 CONDITIONS FOR CHILD CARE REIMBURSEMENT . (1) REGULATION
REQUIRED. Except as provided under sub . (2), a county or tribal agency may reimburse child care
provided only by a family day care center licensed by the department of health and family services , a
group day care center licensed by the department of health and family services, a day camp licensed by
the department of health and family services , a day care provider certified by a county or tribal agency
under this subchapter or a day care program established and provided by a public school board .

(2) EXEMPTION FROM REGULATION . . If any of the following conditions exist, child care does
not have to be provided by a regulated provider under sub . (1) in order for reimbursement to be made:

(a) The care is an arrangement for parents in training or counseling programs and the child care is
provided at the training or counseling site .

(b) The care is a short-term arrangement when a child is ill and not able to receive care from a
child care provider as defined under s . DWD 56.02(6) or the provider has an emergency due to illness or
other circumstance ..
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maintenance organization, visiting nurse association , clinic operated under a physician's supervision , local
publ ic health agency , home health agency , rural hea l th clinic , Indian health agency and ne ighborhood
hea lth center.

(10) "Infant" means a child under one year of age ..

( 11 ) "In-home provider" means a pe rson caring fo r a ch i ld i n the chi ld 's own home .

(12) "Licensed physician" means a physician l icensed under ch . 448, Slats.

(13) "Parent' means a parent, guardian , foster parent , legal custodian , or person acting in place of
a parent. In this subsection , " person acting in place of a parent" means a person to whom the child is
related in one of the ways listed in s . HSS 201 .17(1) . .

(14) "Physician's assistant" means a health care professional certified under
s. 448 .04(1)(0, Stats ., and ch ,. Med 8 .

(15) "Provider" means a person who provides child care for children .,

(16) "Publicly funded parent' means a parent whose child care expenses are subsidized directly
with state or federal funds.

(17) "Registered nurse" means a nurse licensed as a registered nurse under
ch . 441 , Stats .

(18) "Related to the provider" means the provider's natural or adopted children , foster children ,
stepchildren , grandchildren ,, brothers , sisters , first cousins, nephews, nieces, uncles and aunts ..

(19) "School-age child" means a child 7 years of age or older who is enrolled in a public school or
a parochial or other private school .

(20) "School-age day care program" means a program providing care and supervision in other
than a provider's home for less than 24 hours a day for 7 or more school-age children and which is
exempt from being licensed as a day care center under s.. 48.65(1), Stats.

(21) "Tribe" means an American Indian tribe recognized by the federal government ,.



(c) The care permits a Job Opportunities and Basic Skills (JOBS) program enrollee to attend a
JOBS program activity prior to the development of an employability plan under s .. 49 . . 193(4) , Stats ,,
approved by a JOBS administrative agency ..

(d) The care is for a food stamp employment and training program enrollee to attend a program
activity prior to the development of an employability plan , .

HSS 55 . 58 CERTIFICATION .. (1) BASIS FOR CERTIFICATION ,. In order to be certified , a day
care provider shall be exempt from having to be licensed under s .. 48.65 , Stats .,, and shall comply with the
appropriate standards for the type of certified provider that are specified in this subchapter ..

(2) TYPES OF CERTIFIED PROVIDERS . . The following types of day care providers shall be
certified as a condition for receiving state or federal child care funds :

(a) Family day care providers and in-home providers .. Family day care and in-home providers are
required to meet the standards under s . HSS 55.61 and may care for preschool children or school-age
children or a combination of preschool and school-age children consistent with Table 55 .61(6) .

( b) School-age day care programs . . Schoo l-age day care programs are required to meet the
standards under s . HSS 55 .62 ..

(3) APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION . (a) Form . Application for certification shall be made
on a form available from the county or tribal agency in the county or tribal territory where the child care is
provided . The applicant shall submit the completed form to that county or tribal agency.

(b) References. The applicant shall submit with the application the names and addresses of at
least two persons who can attest to the applicant's good character and ability to care for children „ The
county or tribal agency shall require references of all applicants and shall contact references by phone or
letter before certifying an applicant ..

(c) Criminal background. The applicant shall submit a completed notarized background character
verification form for each provider , employe, prospective employe, substitute or adult living in the
provider's home .

Note: Background character verification forms may be obtained from Department of Workforce
Development , Communications Section , P . . O . Box 7935 , Madison, WI 53707-7935 .

(d) Compliance with standards and certification . . The county or tribal agency shall process all
certification applications as follows :

1 . If the application is for certification under sub (2)(a), the county or tribal agency shall review
the application for compliance with standards under s . HSS 55 .61 prior to issuing a certificate .

2 . If the application is for certification under sub . (2)(b) , the county or tribal agency shall refer the
application to a licensing representative in the department of health and family services regional office.
The licensing representative shall determine whether the applicant is in compliance with all standards
under s., HSS 55.62 and report back to the county or tribal agency . . The county or tribal agency may issue
a certificate based on the licensing representative's report .

(e) Approval . Within 60 days after receiving a completed application for certification or
recertification , the county or tribal agency shall either approve the application and issue a certificate or
deny the application . If an application is denied , the county or tribal agency shall give the applicant the
reasons , in writing, for denial .

(f) Ineligible individual . An individual residing in the child's household is not eligible for certification
for that child .



(4) CERTIFICATION FEE. A county or tribal agency may charge a fee for day care certificat ion
not to exceed 150 percent of the licensing fee for a day care center that provides care and supervis i on for
4 to 8 children , under s . 48 .65(3)(a) , Stats .,, plus the costs of criminal record checks required under
s. 48.651(2), Stats . .

(5) CATEGORIES OF CERTIFICATION . . Certification of a provider by a county or tribal agency
shall„ be Level I (regular) or Level II (prov i sional) as follows:

(a) Level I (regular) certification . Level I (regular) certification may be issued only after the
prov ider has demonstra ted compliance with all certification standards including training . . Level I (regular)
certification shall be for a period of 2 years and shall be renewed upon application if the provider continues
to comply with the certification standards under s .. HSS 55 „6t or 55 . .62 . A provider is not eligible to be
issued Level I (regular) certification if the provider is related to all the children in the provider 's care.

(b) Level II (provisional) certification.. Level II (provisional) certification may be issued on ly after
the provider has demonstrated compliance with all cert ification standards under s . HSS 55 .61 , except
standards for training under s .. HSS 55.61(1)(b) . Level II (provisional) certification shall be for a period of 2
years and shall be renewedd upon application if the provider cont inues to comply with the certification
standards , except standards for training under s . . HSS 55 .61(1)(b) .

(6) CERTIFICATION AGENCY . . (a) The county or tribal agency responsible for certification of a
provider shall be determined by the geographic area in which the child care is provided . .

(b) Certification issued to a provider by a county or tribal agency shall be accepted as valid by all
other agencies authorized to certify providers..

(7) COMPLIANCE. . (a) Qualifications of providers .. County and tribal agencies shall maintain
records demonstrating provider compliance with s . HSS 55 .. 61(1) ..

(b) Compliance with other standards . 1 . 'General.' County and tribal agencies shall help assure
provider compliance with s .. HSS 55 .61(2) to (12) in accordance with this paragraph .

2. `Required procedures .' A county or tribal agency shall :

a . Require receipt of a signed application from the provider agreeing to follow day care
certification standards .

b . Provide a checklist of basic day care certification standards and procedures for filing a
complaint to all parents who are using certified family day care or in-home care and who are publicly
funded parents.

c. Provide orientation for applicants for cert ification to expla i n how the certification system works .

d . Conduct an inspection before certification or within 30 days following certification of the place
where child care will be provided by a provider who has appl i ed for certification or has been cert ified .

e . Check the criminal record history for appl icants for certificat ion , for employes and prospective
emp loyes including substitutes , and for adults living in the appl icants home as specified in s . 48 .651(2) ,
Stats.

f.. Check files on ch ild abuse and neg lect findings or pend i ng investigations re lated to applicants ,
employes and prospective employes including substitutes , and for individuals living in the applicants
home.

g . Provide basic health and safety information to the applicant „
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(b) Is the subject of a court findingg that the person has abandoned his or her child, has inflicted
emotional damage or sexual or physical abuse on a child or has neglected or refused, for reasons other
than poverty , to provide necessary care , food, clothing,, medical or dental care or shelter so as to seriously
endanger the physical health of a child .

(3) The county or tribal agency may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew certification and
discontinue payment for care if any of the following apply:

(a) The provider is not in compliance with certification standards under s. HSS 55.61 or 55 .62 , as
appropriate ..

(b) The provider 's references or other community information does not support the provider's
declaration that he or she is able to provide an acceptable level of child care .

(c) The county or tribal agency determines there is danger to the health , safety or welfare of the
children in care.
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3:. ` Optional procedures . .' A county or tribal agency may :

a.. Conduct on-site inspections at any time prior to or after certification to monitor compliance with
certification standards , in addition to the required inspection under subd . 2 .d ..

b.. Make certification available to all family day care providers , whether or not public funding is
involved .

c . Request that all parents whose children are cared for by a certified provider under this
subchapter complete the answers to questions on the checklist and return the checklist provided under
subd.. 2 .. b .

4 .. ` Exception .,' The department may grant an exception to the required procedure under subd .
2 .e.. if the department determines that the alternative procedure meets the intent of the requirement .

(8) EXCEPTIONS TO PARTICULAR CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS . . A county or tribal
agency may grant an exception to any standard in s . HSS 55.61 or 55 . 62 if the county or tribal agency
determines that an alternative means meets the intent of the requirement , except for rules related to
criminal background investigation required under s . . 48.651(2), Stats.

HSS 55 .59 SANCTIONS. (1) The county or tribal agency shall deny, suspend , revoke or refuse to
renew certification and discontinue payment for care if the certified day care operator , day care program
employe, provider, assistant to the provider , substitute provider or person living in the family day care
provider's home meets any of the following criteria :

(a) Is the subject of a pending criminal charge if the charge substantially relates to the
circumstances of caring for children or the operation of a child care program . .

(b) Has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense the circumstances of which
substantially relate to the care of children or the operation of a child care program .

(2) The county or tribal agency may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew certification and
discontinue payment for care if the certified day care operator , day care program employe, provider,
assistant to the provider, substitute provider or person living in the family day care provider's home meets
any of the following criteria :

(a) Has been determined to have abused or neglected a child pursuant to s. 48 .981 , Stats .,



1 . Medications and drugs .

2 . Clean ing suppl ies, poisons and insecticides .

3 . Guns, knives, scissors and sharp objects .

4 . Matches, cigarette l ighters and flammable l iquids .

5 . Plastic bags .

6 . Litter and rubbish.

HSS 55 .60 APPEAL . If a county or tribal agency denies , suspends , revokes or refuses to renew a
certification , the county or tribal agency shall notify the provider in writing and give reasons for the action .
The action is reviewable pursuant to ch ,. 68, Slats ., which provides for administrative review of the
decisions of local agencies . Tribal agencies shall use an appeal process equivalent to the process in ch .
68 , Stats.

HSS 55.605 COMPLAINTS . Within 10 working days after a county or tribal agency receives a
complaint by telephone , letter or personal contact about a certified day care provider, the county or tribal
agency shall investigate that complaint ,.

(1) QUALIFICATIONS OF PROVIDERS . (a) Ability , age and health . 1 .. A provider sha ll be
physically and emotionally able to provide responsible child care and shall be at least 18 years of age .

2. A provider , household member, volunteer, visitor or parent who has symptoms of illness or of a
communicable disease reportable under ch .. HSS 145 that may be transmitted through normal contact , or
whose behavior or mental or physical condition gives reasonable concern for the safety of the children ,
mayy not be in contact with the children in care .,

3 . A provider shall demonstrate that he or she is free from tuberculosis prior to certif ication . .

(b) Training . 7 . . A Level I (regular) certified provider under s . HSS 55 .58(5)(a) shall have
completed 15 hours of ch ild care training approved by the county or tribal agency responsible for
certification prior to Level I (regular) certification . .

2 . A county or tribal agency may require up to 5 hours of annual cont inuing education by a Level
(regular) certified provider each year following Level I (regular) certification .

(c) Reporting changes. A certified provider shall report immediately to the certifying agency any
changes .that affect the certified provider's el igib i lity for certification under this chapter, i nclud ing changes
in individuals living in the household.

(2) THE HOME FOR PROVIDING FAMILY DAY CARE . A provider's home and outside play
areas shall meet the following requirements :

(a) Each floor level used for child care shall have at least one unblocked exit and at least one
smoke detector.

(b) All areas used for child care shall have adequate and safe heat , light and ventilation ,.

(c) The home shall be free of hazards and the following items shall be kept inaccessible to the
children :



(c) The requirement under par . (a) does not apply to a provider who requests from the county or
tribal agency in writing an exemption for a child based upon adherence by the child's parent to religious
belief in exclusive use of prayer or spiritual means for healing .,
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(d) Indoor and outdoor areas used for child care shall include sufficient space for play and for
activities which meet the developmental needs of the children in care .,

(e) Outdoor play areas shall be free of hazards and shall be fenced or the provider shall take
special measures to ensure the safety of the children ..

( f) Pets that are kept in the homeshall be tolerant of children and vaccinated against rabies ..

(g) The home shall have at least one telephone in working order with a list of emergency numbers
posted by each telephone , including numbers for the rescue squad , police , fire station , emergency
medical care and poison control center „

(h) The provider shall maintain first-aid supplies and shall wash superficial wounds with soap and
water before bandaging .

(i) The home shall be clean , uncluttered and free of insects and rodents .

(j) Bathrooms, including toilets , sinks and potty chairs , shall be clean and in good working
condition .

(k) When a public water supply is not available, the water shall be tested and found to be
bacteriologically safe and to have safe nitrate and lead levels by a laboratory certified under ch .. HSS 165
prior to or within 3 months of initial certification and at least every 2 years ..

(1) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation, serving and clean-up shall be kept clean
and sanitary ..

(m) Children may nott share cups, eating utensils , washcloths or towels . .

(3) THE HOME FOR PROVIDING IN-HOME CARE . When a provider cares for children in the
children 's own home, thee provider shall comply with requirements in sub.. (2)(c) , (e) , (h) and (I) , but the
provider is not required to comply with requirements in sub ,. (2)(a) , (b) , (d) , (fl, (g) , (i) , (j) , (k) and (m) .

(4) CHILD HEALTH CARE. (a) Except as provided under pars. (c) and (d) , a cert i fied provider
shall have a current report of a physical examination on fi l e for each chi ld , including each provider's child
in care, as follows :

1 . For a child under 2 years of age , a report of a physical examination conducted not more than 6
months prior to nor later than 3 months after the child is admitted , and a follow-up health examination at
least once every 6 months after adm iss ion .

2. For a child 2 years of age or older, a report of a physical examination conducted.d not more than
2 years prior to nor later than 3 months after the child is admitted . .

(b) The physical examination report shall be signed and dated by a licensed physician, a
physician's assistant or a health check provider.



(e) The provider shall ensure that no person under 18 years of age i s left in sole charge of the
children .

(f) The prov ider and any other adultt working w ith ch ildren may not consume or be
under the influence of alcohol ic beverages or any non-prescribed control led substance specified in ch .
1 61 , Stats., duri ng the hours of opera tion .

(g) No person in the home of a provider may consume or be under the influence of alcoholic
beverages or any non-prescribed controlledsubstance specified i n ch „ 961 , Stats ., during the hours of
operation in th e presence of chi ldren .

(h) A provider may not allow any person whom the provider determines to be a threat to the health
or safety of the children to have contact with the children in the provider's care .

(6) MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN . (a) A certified provider may take care of no more than 3
children under the age of 7 who are not related to the provider ..

( b) A certified prov ider may take care of no more than 6 children , inc lud ing ch ildren related to the
provider, except that:

1 .. If 3 of the children are under the age of 2 , the total number of children may not exceed 5 .

2 . If 4 of the children are under the age of 2 , the total number of ch il dren may not exceed 4 .
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(d) The requirement under par . (a) does not apply to school-age children ., Notwithstanding
s . HSS 55 . . 56(19) , in this paragraph, "school-age children" means children 5 years of age or older who are
enrolled in kindergarten or a higher grade in a public or private school .

(e) The provider shall have on file a written record verifying that each child in care has been
immunized in accordance with s .. 252 .04 , Stats ., and ch . HSS 144 ..

(f) The provider may administer medication to a ch ild only in accordance with written and signed
permission from the child's parent.

(g) The provider shall wash his or her hands with soap and warm running water after toileting ,
prior to food preparation and after diapering children .

(h) The provider shall require all children in the provider 's care to wash their hands with soap and
warm running water before eating and after toileting .

(5) SUPERVISION .. (a) The provider may not be engaged in any other activity or occupation
during the hours of operation which interferes with the adequate care and supervision of children „

(b) The provider shatl be awake whenever the children in care are awake .

(c) No individual provider may take care of children for more than 16 hours in any
24-hour period . The 16-hour period includes any combination of care by a provider who is both licensed
as a family day care provider and certified as a family day care provider .,

(d) The provider shall ensure that each child has adult supervision at all times , .



(a) Shall protect children in care from danger and be aware of where each child is at all times .
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(c) A providers natural, adopted or foster children 7 years of age or older are not counted in
determining the maximum number of children allowed under par . (b) .

(d) The maximum number of children that one provider may care for is shown in
Table 55.61(6) A and B .

Table 55 .61 (6)
MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN CERTIFIED DAY CARE

A. WHEN ALL CHILDREN ARE 2 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER

Related Children Additional Maximum
Under Children Under 7 Number of
7 Years of Age Years of Age Additional Children Ages 7 to 11 Children*

0 3 Additional children ages 7 to 11 may be 6
1 3 cared for as long as the maximum 6
2 3 total number of children is not exceeded. 6
3 3 6
4 2 6
5 1 6
6 0 6

' The maximum number does not include the provider's natural, - adopted or foster children 7 years of
age and older .

B. WHEN CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 2 YEARS ARE PRESENT

Number of Children Under 2 Years of Age Maximum Number of Children*

0 6
1 6
2 6
3 5
4 4

The maximum number does not include the provider's natural, adopted or foster children 7 years of
age and older .

Note : Under s .. 48 .65(1), Stats ., if a provider takes care of 4 or more children under the age of 7
who are not related to the provider, for compensation , the provider must obtain from the department
of health and family services a license to operate a day care center .

(7) PROVIDER INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN . : The provider shall interact with the children
in a caring and positive manner and ::



(b) Each child in attendance for 4 or more hours shall be served a noon or evening meal which
consists of a protein food, fruit and vegetable, a cereal or bread product and pasteurized grade A vitamin
D milk.

(c) Each infant who is unable to hold his or her own bottle shall be held forr bottle feeding . Bottles
may not be propped .

(11) REST. The provider shall ensure that each child has a clean, comfortable and safe place to
rest as follows

(a) Each child shall be allowed to have undisturbed rest or a nap, when needed, in a place that is
clean, safe and comfortable
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(b) May not hit, spank , pinch , shake or inflict any other form of corporal punishment on the child,
or use any discipline which is frightening to the child .

(c) May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make derogatory remarks about the child or the
child's family ..

(8) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT .. (a) The provider shall implement a program of learning and
play activities . Activities shall include

1 .. A balance of active and qu i et play for each child daily .

2 . Both indoor and , weather perm itting , outdoor activities for each child daily ..

3 . Opportunities for each child to play with a var iety of toys and equipment ..

4 .. Opportunit ies for each child to be involved in a var iety of activities during a week .

5 . Activities specifically for chi ldren under one year of age , if these ch ildren are present..

6. Activities specifically for children from one to 2 years of age and for children 2 years and older ,
if these children are present .

(b) A provider may use televis i on only to supplement the daily plan for children . No child may be
required to watch televis ion

(9) TRANSPORTATION .. When transporting children the provider shall ensure that :

(a) The driver of the vehicle holds a valid operator's license .

(b) The vehicle is registered in Wisconsin ..

(c) Each child is seated and properly restrained i n a seat belt or, for a child under 4 years of age ,
a child safety restraint system , in compliance with s . . 347 .48(2m) and (4) , Slats,,

(10) MEALS AND SNACKS . The provider shall ensure that each child receives proper
nourishment while in day care as follows:

(a) Each child shall be served one meal or snack at least once every 3 hours .



(d) Making a copy of the applicable certification standards available to each parent . .

(e) Displaying a copy of the certificate in an area easily seen by parents and visitors ..

(f) Using an enrollment form which includes :

1 . . The parents' home and work phone numbers .

2. The parents' signed consent for emergency medical care ..

3. A name and number to call if the child requires emergency medical care .

(13) DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED . The provider shall not discriminate on the basis of race ,
color , sex , sexual orientation , creed , hand icap or national origin or ancestry in accepting children or in the
employment of employes .

HSS 55 .62 STANDARDS FOR SCHOOL-AGE PROGRAMS . . (1) CONDITIONS FOR
CERTIFICATION . . School-age day care programs shall meet the standards set out in this section in order
to be certified .

(2) PERSONNEL. (a) Director.. Each school-age day care program shall have a person
designated as director.. The director shall :

1 . Be at least 21 years of age.

2. Have had at least one year of child care or administrative experience with preschool or school-
age children or have completed 36 classroom hours or 3 credits of training in at least one of the following
areas child development, early childhood education , elementary education, child guidance , physical
education , recreation or other department-approved area . .

b) Program leader„ A program leader shall be designated by the program director to plan and
implement the daily activities for a designated group of children . The program leader shall : ;

1 . Be at least 18 years old . .
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(b) Each child shall have a personal clean sheet or blanket or both and pillowcase if a pillow is
used .

(12) PROVIDER AND PARENT COMMUNICATION . . The provider shall be in ongoing
communication with a child's parent by :

(a) Allowing parents to visit and observe the program of child care during any hours that care is
being provided . .

(b) Talking to each child's parent at least once a week about his or her child's development ,
activities , likes and dislikes..

(c) Developing written information which specifies the charge for child care and the expected
frequency of payment for the service .



(a) Review of hea lth , nutrition and discip line pol icies .

(b) Review of plans for evacuat ion and other emergencies .

(c) Training in emergency procedures and use of first-aid ..

(d) Review of all applicable parts of this subchapteF .

(e) Review of the school-age program 's activity schedules .
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2.. Have completed high school or its equivalency .,

3.. Have had 80 working days experience working with school-age children .

4. Have completed 10 classroom hours of training in at least one of the following areas:: child
development , early childhood education , elementary education , child guidance, physical education ,
recreation or other department -approved area..

(c) Program assistant .. A program assistant shall

1 . Work under the supervision of a program leader .

2 . Be at least 18 years old . .

3. Have completed or be enrolled in 10 classroom hours of training in at least one of the fol lowing
areas : child development , early childhood education , elementary education , ch ild guidance , physical
education , recreation or other department -approved area..

(d) Substitutes. 1 .. In the absence of a regular staff member , there shall be a similarly qualified
substitute who is at least 18 years old .

2. When the regular staff member is not expected to be absent for more than - 3 days , a person not
meeting the educational qualifications under par .. (a) , (b) or (c) may substitute for the regular staff member
if a qua lified person is not ava il able,.

(e) Staff records . The school-age day care program shall maintain a record for each employe
which shall be available to the county or tribal agency and includes :

1 . The name, address , date of birth , education, position, names and addresses of employers in
previous work experience in child care , the name , address and telephone number of a person to be
notified in an emergency , and a statement signed by the employe affirming that he or she has not been
convicted or is not the subject of a pending criminal charge as specified under s . HSS 55 .59 (1) ..

2 . Evidence that the employe is free from tuberculosis „

3. Documentation of educational qualifications for the position .

(3) ORIENTATION .. Each school-age program shall develop and implement an orientation
session which shall Oe given to all new staff and volunteers in the first week that they are working in the
program.. The orientation session shall include all of the following :



(b) No group may contain more than 32 children .
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(f) Training in the recognition of signs of child abuse and neglect and explanation of
responsibilities for reporting suspected cases of child abuse or neglect .

(g) Explanation of job responsibilities and job descriptions ..

(h) Training in the recognition of childhood illnesses ,:

(4) FACILITY . (a) General rules . 1 . A school-age program shall consult local authorit ies to obtain
any required zoning clearances or building permits . .

2 . There shall be a report of inspection filed in the licensing office of the department of health and
family services' regional office which indicates approval of the building by the state department of
commerce or by a certified agent of that department .. The building shall comply with applicable state and
local building codes .

(b) Indoor s pace .. 1 . . The space used by children shall be no less than 35 square feet
(3 . . 3 sq . . meters) of usable floor space per child . .

2 . The indoor area shall be free of hazards, and items that may be harmful to children such as
medications , drugs, poisons , insecticides , weapons, matches , cigarette lighters and flammable liquids
shall be kept out of reach of the children .,

(c) Swimming pool . A school-age program that has a swimming pool on its premises shall do all
of the following :

1 . Comply with the requirements of chs. ILHR 90 and HFS 172, relating to swimming pool safety .,

2 . Maintain a ratio of one person qualified by Red Cross , Boy Scouts, Young Men 's Christ ian
Association or other genera l ly accepted lifesaving certificate for every 25 ch ildren in the water.

(5) CHILD HEALTH CARE .. (a) Within 30 days after a child is enro l led , the program shall have on
file a health history for that child ,.

(b) The program shall isolate any ill child and contact the parent or designated responsible person
as soon as possible to arrange for removal of the child from the program ..

(c) The provider may administer medication to a child only in accordance with written and signed
permission from the child's parent. .

(d) Pets that are kept on the premises shall be tolerant of children and vaccinated against rabies .

(e) Each staff member shall wash his or her hands with soap and warm running water after
toileting and prior to food service and preparat ion .

( f) All children in care shall wash their hands with soap and warm running water before eating and
after to i leting .

(6) STAFFING AND GROUPING (a) At least one person meeting the qualifications of a school-
age program leader shall supervise each group of children .



(9) STAFF INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN. Staff shall interact with the children in a caring
and positive manner and :

(a) Shall protect children in their care from danger and be aware of where each child is at all
times ..

(b) May not hit, spank , pinch , shake or inflict any other form of corporal punishment on a child , or
use any discipline which is frightening to the child .

(c) May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make derogatory remarks about the child or the
child's family „

(10) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT. . (a) The program shall implement a schedule of activities
which include :

1 . . A variety of activities which ensure that each child is involved in both active and quiet play .
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(c) There shall be at least one staff member for every 16 children .

(d) Children who are relatives of staff shall be counted in the group size and ratio calculations .

(e) In a program with 10 or more children present , there shall be at least 2 adults available at all
times on the premises . .

(7) EMERGENCIES . (a) A program shall have a phone in working order to which the staff has
access and a l ist of emergency phone numbers posted on or near the phone .. The list shall include
numbers for the rescue squad , po lice , fi re station , emergency medical care and po ison control center.

(b) A program shall have on file :

1 .. The parents ' home and work phone numbers .

2 . The parents ' signed consent for emergency care.

3 . A name and number to call if a ch ild requ ires emergency med ical care .

(c) The program shall mainta i n fi rst-aid suppl ies and staff shall wash superficial wounds with soap
and water before bandaging

(8) SANITATION , . (a) The p remises sha l l be c lean , uncluttered and free of insects and rodents.

(b) Bathrooms , including to ilets and sinks, shall be clean and in good wor king condition .

(c) When a publ ic water supply is not available, the water sha ll be tested and found to be
bacteriologica lly safe and to have safe n itrate and lead levels by the state laboratory of hygiene or a
l aboratory certified unde r ch . HSS 165 prior to or with in 3 months of initial certification and at least every 2
years .

(d) Areas , equ ipment and utens il s for food preparat ion ,, serving and clean-up sha ll be kept clean
and san itary .

(e) Ch ildren may not share cups, eating utensils , washcloths or towels,.
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2 . Opportunit ies for each child to use a variety of materials and equ ipment..

3 . Opportunities for each child to be involved in a variety of activities during a week and to select
and plan his or her own activities..

(b) Television viewing, if part of the activities , may not exceed one hour a day per child and shall
be appropriate for the children in care „

(11) MEALS AND SNACKS . (a) A program operating for less than 4 hours shall ensure that each
child is served a snack.

(b) A program operating 4 or more hours shall ensure that each child is served one meal or one
snack at least once every 3 hours .

(c) For each child served a noon or evening meal , that meal shall consist of a protein food , fruit
and vegetable, a cereal or bread product and pasteurized grade A vitamin D milk .

(d) Snacks shall consist of at least one of the following : milk or a milk product , fruit, fruit juice,
vegetable , peanut butter or other protein , whole grain or enriched bread or cereal . When only fruit juice is
served , it shall be pure fruit juice.

(12) TRANSPORTATION .. (a) The program shall have a written agreement with each child's
parent or guard ian , and signed by the parent or guardian , which specifies how the child will be transported
to and from the program..

(b) A driver for the program shall hold a valid Wisconsin operator's license required under
s. 343.05, Stats.

(c) Any vehicle used by the program to transport children shall be registered in Wisconsin .,

(d) Any vehicle used by the program to transport children shall be in safe operating cond i tion and
at 12-month intervals the school-age day care program sha ll provide ev idence of the vehic le's safe
operating cond i ti on to the licens ing office of the department of hea lth and fam ily services' regiona l office.

(e) Each ch ild and adult being transported in a veh icle with a seating capac i ty of 15 or fewer shall
be seated and proper ly restrained in an ind ividual vehic le seat belt or a car safety seat.

(13) PARENTS. The program shall allow parents to vis it and observe the program at any time
during the hou rs of operation .

(14) INSURANCE . The program sha ll provide documentation of insurance coverage by
subm i tt ing to the county or tribal agency a certificate of i nsurance reflect ing current dates of coverage for

(a) General l i ability insurance which provides coverage with limits of not less than $25 , 000 for
each person and total limits of $75 ,000 for each occurrence .

(b) Vehic le l i ability insurance when transportation is provided , with minimums no less t han those
specified in s . . 121 .53 , Stats .

(c) Non-owned veh icle l i abil i ty insurance when transportation is provided by other than center-
owned vehicles .

SECTION 2. HSS 55.63 is repealed .
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The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication
in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s .227.22(2) (intro.), Stats .

Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services

Dated: January 9, 1997 By: --
sephUAd

Secretary

SEAL :



AdM--.
Tommy G . Thompson , Governor
Joe Leean, Secretary

These rules are also being submitted to the Secretary of State as required by s . 227.20, Stats .
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JAS s 1991
FEVISOn OF STATUTES
• BUREAU

Enclosure

1 West Wilson Street . Post Office Box '7850• Madison, WI 5370'7-7850• Telephone (608) 266-9622

State of Wisconsin
Department of Health and Family Services

January 9, 1997

Mr. Bruce E . Munson
Revisor of Statutes
131 W. Wilson St., Suite 800
Madison, WI 53703

Dear Mr. Munson :

As provided in s. 227.20, Stats ., there is hereby submitted , a certified copy of ss. HSS 55.55
to 55 .63, administrative rules relating to child care certification .
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